Home School Dads

Line

Spacespace
Message Boards
Stripes

space
Home School Dads
A Website for Fathers who Home School

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Adjusting to New Roles...

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home School Dads Forum Index -> Mr. Mom Syndrome
View previous topic :: View next topic  
thousley

PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:06 pm    Post subject: Adjusting to New Roles... Reply with quote

I am a new homeschool Dad. Very Happy
I have been homeschooling for about 2 months now. I have two kids, girl (11) and boy (almost 13).

I have worked from home for the last two years. I used to travel four or five nights a week for a large technology firm out of Baltimore. I was doing well, good salary, able to pick and choose my jobs, choose my own teams...but I was never home. I hated it...so, I quit and came home to start my own business. That has not been a real success, I was teaching two or three nights a week, and we were making ends meet. For years, I have been the bread winner. And now...I am not. At this point, I contributing nothing the income for our family and it is really doing a number on me.

I know that homeschooling was absolutely the right decision for our children and our family. I see a huge difference in the kids already. I do not wish I were on the road again either, but there are some days, like today, that I am feeling like less of a man. My wife keeps us afloat...I am not contributing...what kind of man lets his wife be the sole provider?

Now, I know in my heart that those are just feelings, and that they are not true. We, my wife and I have made decisions, together, for the betterment of our quality of life. But in my head it is really tough today.

Does this make any sense? Has anyone else gone through this?

Any advice for adjusting to this new life?

Tony
Frank