Home School Dads

Line

Spacespace
Message Boards
Stripes

space
Home School Dads
A Website for Fathers who Home School

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

taking the plunge

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Home School Dads Forum Index -> Reasons for Starting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
icarus

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:03 am    Post subject: taking the plunge Reply with quote

I'm thankful that I found this site....my wife and I are in the final decision stages for homeschooling our almost 7 year old son. This decision comes after a kindergarten year in public school full of ups and downs (mainly with the "system" and how it affects our son...I'll share that later).

I was an average public school student who sort of drifted through the system, went to college, etc.... I can honestly say there wasn't anything "special" about my public school career. I am ready to help our son grow, but I am SO scared that I will screw him up. If there is a time when I feel out of my comfort zone, now is it. If the decision is made my wife will continue to stay at home with my son and 3 year old daughter.

The questions and fears: Can I do it? Can I help him blossom? Can I overcome the feeling that I am sheltering my son? Are we setting him up to become a social misfit?

Those are just a few, and yes, some are trivial and shallow on my part but I wanted to lay it all out and get some feedback from those who have gone through the same thing. As my handle indicates, I want to reach for the sun, I just don't want the wings burnt.

I'd appreciate any and all comments.

- Icarus
Rand

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome.

I was scared to death of messin around with our 7 & 8 year old minds, but I am glad I got over it.